Sarah Wiedetz, a junior at Cartersville High School, was named the Distinguished Young Woman of Bartow County for the Class of 2018 on Sunday, February 26, at the Grand Theatre. Sarah earned $2,300 in cash scholarships and will go on to represent Bartow County at the state program in July. In addition to receiving a $1,300 scholarship as the DYW of Bartow County, Wiedetz also received preliminary awards valued at $200 each in Fitness, Talent, Self-Expression, Scholastics and Interview. She is the daughter of Clark and Allison Wiedetz of Cartersville.

Sarah is very involved in her school and community including musical theater and drama at Cartersville High School where she has the lead role of Audrey in the upcoming performance of Little Shop of Horrors.  She is also a member of the robotics team, academic team, Varsity Singers Chorus, Sam Jones UMC Student Leadership team, Cartersville High School Peer Leadership team, Beta Club Treasurer, Cartersville High School Student Government Executive Board Secretary, International Thespian Society President, 2016 One Act All-Star Cast, 2017 CHS Literary Team Trio and Bartow Chamber of Commerce Youth Leadership.

Some of Sarah’s many accomplishments include Superior Rankings at National Piano Festival, Hugh O’Brian Youth Leadership Ambassador 2016, and was a Clemson Challenge for Academically Talented Students Participant in 2016.  Additionally, Sarah has participated in giving back projects with Salvation Army Angel Tree, Project Linus, Vacation Bible School, Letters for Literacy, Duck Derby and Boys and Girls Club.


Other award recipients include:

1st Honoree – Mary Blasingame ($900)
2nd Honoree – Samantha Sims ($700)

Fitness Award – Sarah Wiedetz, Samantha Sims ($200/each)

Self-Expression Award – Grace Njoroge, Sarah Wiedetz ($200/each)

Scholastics Award – Sarah Wiedetz, Mary Blasingame ($200/each)

Talent Award – Samantha Sims, Sarah Wiedetz ($200/each)

Interview Award – Grace Njoroge, Sarah Wiedetz ($200/each)

Spirit of DYW Award – Elizabeth Robertson ($200/each)

Be Your Best Self Award – Gloria Gore ($200/each)