ATLANTA – State Representative Matthew Gambill (R-Cartersville) was recently appointed to serve as a member of the House Majority Caucus Whip Team. Rep. Gambill was appointed to serve on the whip team by House Majority Whip Trey Kelley (R-Cedartown), and his appointment is for a two-year term concurrent with his service as a member of the Georgia House of Representatives.

“I am honored to be selected.  Working with my colleagues and building relationships is something that I have focused on since being elected two years ago. I look forward to serving and continuing to learn in this new role,” said Rep. Gambill.

“I’m excited to have Rep. Gambill as a member of the Majority Whip Team,” said Whip Kelley. “During his time in the House, Rep. Gambill has proven himself to be a dedicated public servant who has earned the trust of his colleagues. I know he will use this new leadership role to continue to advance legislation that moves Georgia forward and protects our shared Georgia values.”

Members of the whip team are responsible for monitoring legislation as it moves through both chambers of the General Assembly and helping their fellow House members understand the details of bills and resolutions.

The Majority Caucus Whip Team also includes State Representatives Mark Newton (R-Augusta), Chief Deputy Whip; John LaHood (R-Valdosta); Vance Smith (R-Pine Mountain); Stan Gunter (R-Blairsville); Houston Gaines (R-Athens); Noel Williams (R-Cordele); Ginny Ehrhart (R-Marietta); Dale Washburn (R-Macon); and Buddy DeLoach (R-Townsend).