Kitty Carte and Myrna Policastro (both of Cartersville) were awarded the Biomedical Achievement Award.

Rome Georgia, Friday, June 12, 2015 — The American Red Cross of Northwest Georgia recognized held its annual business meeting and Celebration of Volunteers on Tuesday, June 2nd at Trinity Baptist Church in Calhoun with 60 volunteers, donors and staff present.  The speaker and award presenter was Bartow County Fire Chief Craig Millsap.


He spoke of how on average, a local family every 30 hours experiences the compassion of our Disaster Action Team volunteers. Since the beginning of this fiscal year, which runs from July through June, over 660 people with emergency needs for food, clothing, shelter, health and mental health support and recovery guidance, got the help they needed after disasters – mostly home and apartment fires.


During the business portion of the meeting he announced his retirement from the Board of Directors and the election of Mr. W. Lane Haley, a local attorney that practices in Dalton and Roma; and Mr. Brian Burton, a local Financial Advisor in Calhoun for a three year term.  Kaytlin Greenly (of Cartersville) and Angela Hammond (of Calhoun) were both re-elected to serve another 3 year term.  He also announced the that Bud Owens (of Calhoun) had been elected as Board Chairman, Miguel Trivino (of Dalton) had been elected as 1st Vice Chairman, and Angela Hammond (of Calhoun) had been elected as 2nd Vice Chairwoman.


After the business portion was completed, Chief Millsap went into the Celebration of Volunteers and recognized the following volunteers:


Bob Townley (of Armuchee) was awarded the Special Citation for Exceptional Volunteer Service Award.  Bob was unable to accept his award at the event due to being deployed to the Texas floods.


Fred Rife (of Rome) and Roger Dewey (of Rome) were both awarded the Disaster Response Volunteer Award.


Candy Rowlls (of Chickamauga) was awarded the Disaster Preparedness Volunteer Award.  Candy was unable to accept her award at the event due to being deployed to the Texas floods.


Gary Casper (of Ringgold) was awarded the Rookie of the Year Award.


Kitty Carte (of Cartersville) and Myrna Policastro (of Cartersville) were both awarded the Biomedical Achievement Award.


Nance Industries (of Calhoun) was awarded the Local Fundraiser Award for their support of our Heroes campaign and year round fund raising efforts for the Red Cross mission.


Heroes Fundraiser Certificates was presented to the following: Carol Nance, Betty Wheat, Kimberlee Cloer, Gilbert Roden, Gary Cook, Steve Stultz, Kesha Phipps, Marla McEntire, Patricia Tierce, Alex Diax, Frankie Beck, Mike Nance, Presley Nance, Dan Key.  Kaytlin Greenley, Jeremy Lightsey, Angie Davis, Deanna Berry, Erick Housch, Angela Hammond and Bartow County Fire Department.


The Red Cross is not a government agency and relies on donations of time, money and blood to do its work. An average of 91 cents of every dollar given to the Red Cross is invested in helping people in need.