Mobile, Ala. (June 29, 2015) – On Saturday, June 27, Sophia Inaba of Cartersville, Ga. received a talent award during the 58th Distinguished Young Women National Finals. The $1,000 cash scholarship was awarded to four of the 50 state representatives who received the highest scores from a panel of judges following their on-stage presentation of a performing arts talent in front of an audience. Inaba also earned a $1,000 preliminary competition award in the scholastics category.

Following a selection process that began in her home state of Georgia, Inaba traveled to Mobile, Ala. along with 49 other state representatives to participate in community activities and prepare for the 58th annual national competition.

Inaba is a graduate of Woodland High School. In the fall, she will attend the University of California, Los Angeles with plans to become a neuroscientist. She is the daughter of Fujiko and Mike Inaba.

Máire Nakada of Alaska was selected as the Distinguished Young Woman of America for 2015 and presented with a $50,000 cash scholarship. Kadee Beasley of North Carolina was named first runner-up and Kassie Miller of Kentucky was selected as second runner-up. More than $150,000 in cash scholarship was awarded during the three-day competition in Mobile, Ala.
About Distinguished Young Women

Founded in 1958 in Mobile, Alabama, Distinguished Young Women is the largest and oldest national scholarship program for high school girls. During its 58 years of operation, the program has provided life-changing experiences for more than 740,000 young women. Last year, Distinguished Young Women provided more than $402 million in cash and college scholarship opportunities to program participants at the local, state and national level. Previously known as America’s Junior Miss, the program announced its new name in June 2010.

The mission of Distinguished Young Women is to positively impact the lives of young women by providing a transformative experience that promotes and rewards scholarship, leadership and talent. National sponsors include Mobile County, City of Mobile, Wintzell’s Oyster House, The Hearin-Chandler Foundation, Encore Rehabilitation, Alabama Power Foundation, Master Boat Builders, Barbara Barrington Jones Family Foundation, Regions Financial Corporation, and Alabama Media Group.