ATLANTA, Ga. (9.23.14) -The Georgia State Firefighters Association (GSFA) has recently recognized several Georgia firefighters as recipients of its 2014 GSFA Awards. GSFA provides recognition opportunities for outstanding firefighters through its award program. The awards were presented during the 2014 Georgia Fire Service Conference awards banquet held September 20, 2014, in Macon-Bibb County, Ga.

“GSFA’s annual awards program serves as a way for us to honor the accomplishments and good deeds of our fellow fire service personnel,” said GSFA President Dean King. “The awards program will aid Georgia’s fire personnel in continuing their mission of serving and protecting the state’s citizens.”

Since 1972, GSFA has recognized firefighters through its annual recognition program which includes the following four awards:  Firefighter of the Year, Rookie of the Year, Educator of the Year, and the Life Saving Valor Award.

This year’s recipients include:

Firefighter of the Year – Lt. Travis Strawbridge, Walker County Emergency Services

Educator of the Year – Capt. Traci Reece, Walker County Emergency Services

Rookie of the Year – Joshua Pruitt, City of Cartersville Fire Department

Life Saving Valor Award – Walker County Emergency Services

Life Saving Valor Award – Bartow County Fire Department (Sgt. Dale Thurman, Paramedic Paul Lottner, Capt. Chad Woodall, Firefighter Robert Clements and Battalion Chief David Levy)

About GSFA

The Georgia State Firefighters Association (GSFA) is a membership organization that serves all firefighters across the State of Georgia. It is the largest and oldest fire service organization in the state with over 3,500 members. Since its founding in 1952, GSFA has been providing its members with an active network and resources for information, communication, and representation on the state and national level.  For more information on GSFA, visit