Residents in 54 northern Georgia counties will again be able to burn outdoor yard debris beginning
this week.  Outdoor burning restrictions are in place annually from May 1 to October 1 in
numerous counties, due to summer air quality concerns and regulations of the Georgia Department of
Natural Resources and the Environmental Protection Division.
“Fall in Georgia is perfect for working in the yard, and that includes clearing leaves and vegetation
with fire,” said Frank Sorrells, Georgia Forestry Commission Chief of Forest Protection. “Just remember
that any time fire is used for outdoor burning, a burn permit needs to be secured from the Georgia
Forestry Commission. Fortunately that’s an easy thing to do.”
Burn permits can be secured online at and permits may also be obtained by calling
The 54 counties whose burning restrictions will be lifted on October 1 are: Banks, Barrow, Bartow,
Bibb, Butts, Carroll, Catoosa, Chattooga, Cherokee, Clarke, Clayton, Cobb, Columbia, Coweta,
Crawford, Dawson, DeKalb, Douglas, Fayette, Floyd, Forsyth, Fulton, Gordon, Gwinnett, Hall,
Haralson, Heard, Henry, Houston, Jackson, Jasper, Jones, Lamar, Lumpkin, Madison, Meriwether,
Monroe, Morgan, Newton, Oconee, Paulding, Peach, Pickens, Pike, Polk, Putnam, Richmond,
Rockdale, Spalding, Troup, Twiggs, Upson, Walker and Walton.
“As beautiful as our autumn leaves are, we have to urge caution this time of year,” said Sorrells.
“We always see an uptick in wildfire activity in the northern parts of the state from around Thanksgiving
into early December. That coincides with the annual leaf fall in our hardwood forest in the mountains,
ridge and valley areas, which provides more fuel for wildfires. Always have water and tools on hand to
combat escaped flames, which is our number one cause of wildfire,” Sorrells said.
For more information about safe burning, burn permits and services of the Georgia Forestry
Commission, visit