The Georgia High School Football all-region team for 5-AAAA has been announced and as expected, it is littered with Cartersville Purple Hurricanes.

The player of the year is junior quarterback Trevor Lawrence. The defensive player of the year is senior defensive lineman Torrian Scrutchins. The Ironman Award (which goes to the two-way player of the year) went to senior linebacker and wide receiver Avery Showell. And the special teams player of the year went to junior placekicker Jonathan Cruz.

Cartersville players named first-team offense are senior wide receiver Antoine Jefferson, senior offensive lineman Dalen Curtis, and junior offensive lineman Nick Root. Cartersville players named first-team defense are senior defensive lineman Brandon Wade, junior defensive lineman Darian Poellnitz, senior linebacker Sean Holton, senior linebacker Trevor Lowe, senior defensive back Trase Fessia, senior defensive back Trey Creamer, and senior defensive back Xavier Coaxum.

Cartersville players named second-team offense are junior wide receiver E.J. Turner, junior wide receiver J’Kobe Orr, and junior offensive lineman Bryce Wilkins. The Cartersville player named second-team defense is junior linebacker Nyvin Nelson.

Cartersville players honorably mentioned are junior wide receiver T.J. Horton, junior offensive lineman Alex Corrigan, and junior offensive lineman Demetrious Winters.

Cartersville hosts Mary Persons at Weinman Stadium Friday night at 7:30 in the Class AAAA semifinals.